You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Kurt Federspiel <fe...@yahoo.com> on 2009/09/29 01:05:16 UTC
Over Including...
Greets:
I have a BIG repository that we are breaking apart into more manageable pieces. I got everyone to commit and sent them packing, updated everything to the latest & greatest, kicked everyone off the server (that didn't go packing), made a backup and began moving by removing from one repo and then adding to another.
Then, I had an interesting issue; I got an error that said a directory was all ready under version control (as follows):
user@PC:~/DEV $ svn add ./Include
svn: warning: 'Include' is already under version control
Can someone provide a little help tell me why I get this error in a different repository than the original that was deleted?
Thanks in advance.
Kurt.
------------------------------------------------------
http://subversion.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=1065&dsMessageId=2401446
To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org].
Re: Over Including...
Posted by Blair Zajac <bl...@orcaware.com>.
Kurt Federspiel wrote:
> Greets:
>
> I have a BIG repository that we are breaking apart into more manageable pieces. I got everyone to commit and sent them packing, updated everything to the latest & greatest, kicked everyone off the server (that didn't go packing), made a backup and began moving by removing from one repo and then adding to another.
>
> Then, I had an interesting issue; I got an error that said a directory was all ready under version control (as follows):
> user@PC:~/DEV $ svn add ./Include
> svn: warning: 'Include' is already under version control
So you have a checkout from one repository and you're trying to add it to a new
one? The working copy is still a working copy, so you'll have to get a fresh
checkout from the new repository and add the Include into there. There's no
distinction that the working copy is from a different repository.
Also, you know that you're not keeping history this way, just by adding it.
The real way to do this is to svnadmin dump and then use svndumpfilter to grab
portions of the repository into a new repository. The svn client shouldn't be
necessary.
Regards,
Blair
--
Blair Zajac, Ph.D.
CTO, OrcaWare Technologies
<bl...@orcaware.com>
Subversion training, consulting and support
http://www.orcaware.com/svn/
------------------------------------------------------
http://subversion.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=1065&dsMessageId=2401458
To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org].