You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to dev@hivemind.apache.org by "Brian K. Wallace" <br...@transmorphix.com> on 2005/02/01 08:54:15 UTC

Building in Eclipse

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

I've gone through a clean checkout and documented every step for
beginners to be able to build the source and run the examples. What I've
hit now is in doing the same thing in Eclipse. (Didn't realize how much
I had done outside of Eclipse until now *sigh*)

Any missed steps / better ways / help / prayers in getting this set up
from scratch would be appreciated.

Environment:
~  Windows XP
~  JDK 1.5
~  Eclipse 3.1 Build id: 200412162000 (M4)

Checked out HEAD to a _clean_ area
Selected build.xml -> Run As... -> Ant Build
Passed the Download Warning
Build failed - Unable to find classes in xercesImpl.jar. Modified
classpath in Run As... -> Ant Build... to include xercesImpl.jar from
$ANT_HOME\lib
Build now succeeds, but all the hivemind.test.ant.TestConstructRegistry
tests fail because org.apache.xml.serialize.BaseMarkupSerializer isn't
found (NoClassDefFoundError)

Modifying the build's classpath didn't feel right, but it allowed
compilation to succeed. Any insight as to how to do it 'right' such that
the tests pass as well?

[trying to get the 'initial setup' instructions as concise as possible]

TIA
Brian
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.5 (MingW32)

iD8DBQFB/zWnaCoPKRow/gARApexAJ9/fyAZapatlVgvzKk4f8Bo/g3akwCcDLGn
VIy3WF1uq5xjVfrcANh2crk=
=KGOs
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: hivemind-dev-unsubscribe@jakarta.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: hivemind-dev-help@jakarta.apache.org


Re: Building in Eclipse

Posted by "Brian K. Wallace" <br...@transmorphix.com>.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Knut,

~  Thanks for the pointer. I had ANT_HOME defined (both in and out of
Eclipse), just not in the right place. Also had version issues with
Xalan which contributed to the problem (just hadn't gotten that far when
I had this issue).

~  I've finished the docs for starting up with HiveMind which I'm going
to address in a separate e-mail.

~  Thanks again.

Brian

Knut Wannheden wrote:
| Brian,
|
| Did you define ANT_HOME as a classpath variable in Eclipse? I suppose
| you must have if you didn't modify the project's classpath. I should
| also mention that Ant 1.6.2 is a requirement.
|
| Further, I usually work with the Ant view (Window > Open View >
| Other... > Ant > Ant). This lets me double-click the target I'd like
| to run.
|
| HTH,
|
| --knut
|
| On Tue, 01 Feb 2005 01:54:15 -0600, Brian K. Wallace
| <br...@transmorphix.com> wrote:
|
| I've gone through a clean checkout and documented every step for
| beginners to be able to build the source and run the examples. What I've
| hit now is in doing the same thing in Eclipse. (Didn't realize how much
| I had done outside of Eclipse until now *sigh*)
|
| Any missed steps / better ways / help / prayers in getting this set up
| from scratch would be appreciated.
|
| Environment:
| ~  Windows XP
| ~  JDK 1.5
| ~  Eclipse 3.1 Build id: 200412162000 (M4)
|
| Checked out HEAD to a _clean_ area
| Selected build.xml -> Run As... -> Ant Build
| Passed the Download Warning
| Build failed - Unable to find classes in xercesImpl.jar. Modified
| classpath in Run As... -> Ant Build... to include xercesImpl.jar from
| $ANT_HOME\lib
| Build now succeeds, but all the hivemind.test.ant.TestConstructRegistry
| tests fail because org.apache.xml.serialize.BaseMarkupSerializer isn't
| found (NoClassDefFoundError)
|
| Modifying the build's classpath didn't feel right, but it allowed
| compilation to succeed. Any insight as to how to do it 'right' such that
| the tests pass as well?
|
| [trying to get the 'initial setup' instructions as concise as possible]
|
| TIA
| Brian

- ---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: hivemind-dev-unsubscribe@jakarta.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: hivemind-dev-help@jakarta.apache.org




| ---------------------------------------------------------------------
| To unsubscribe, e-mail: hivemind-dev-unsubscribe@jakarta.apache.org
| For additional commands, e-mail: hivemind-dev-help@jakarta.apache.org



-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.5 (MingW32)

iD8DBQFCACeCaCoPKRow/gARAsYqAJ494LDu/aJCtIjuWIlvsnOJjQMFQwCgkdl+
Kw6SrWBt8QpxNxYY7Un2oDw=
=/UFj
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: hivemind-dev-unsubscribe@jakarta.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: hivemind-dev-help@jakarta.apache.org


Re: Building in Eclipse

Posted by Knut Wannheden <kn...@gmail.com>.
Brian,

Did you define ANT_HOME as a classpath variable in Eclipse? I suppose
you must have if you didn't modify the project's classpath. I should
also mention that Ant 1.6.2 is a requirement.

Further, I usually work with the Ant view (Window > Open View >
Other... > Ant > Ant). This lets me double-click the target I'd like
to run.

HTH,

--knut

On Tue, 01 Feb 2005 01:54:15 -0600, Brian K. Wallace
<br...@transmorphix.com> wrote:
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> Hash: SHA1
> 
> I've gone through a clean checkout and documented every step for
> beginners to be able to build the source and run the examples. What I've
> hit now is in doing the same thing in Eclipse. (Didn't realize how much
> I had done outside of Eclipse until now *sigh*)
> 
> Any missed steps / better ways / help / prayers in getting this set up
> from scratch would be appreciated.
> 
> Environment:
> ~  Windows XP
> ~  JDK 1.5
> ~  Eclipse 3.1 Build id: 200412162000 (M4)
> 
> Checked out HEAD to a _clean_ area
> Selected build.xml -> Run As... -> Ant Build
> Passed the Download Warning
> Build failed - Unable to find classes in xercesImpl.jar. Modified
> classpath in Run As... -> Ant Build... to include xercesImpl.jar from
> $ANT_HOME\lib
> Build now succeeds, but all the hivemind.test.ant.TestConstructRegistry
> tests fail because org.apache.xml.serialize.BaseMarkupSerializer isn't
> found (NoClassDefFoundError)
> 
> Modifying the build's classpath didn't feel right, but it allowed
> compilation to succeed. Any insight as to how to do it 'right' such that
> the tests pass as well?
> 
> [trying to get the 'initial setup' instructions as concise as possible]
> 
> TIA
> Brian
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
> Version: GnuPG v1.2.5 (MingW32)
> 
> iD8DBQFB/zWnaCoPKRow/gARApexAJ9/fyAZapatlVgvzKk4f8Bo/g3akwCcDLGn
> VIy3WF1uq5xjVfrcANh2crk=
> =KGOs
> -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
> 
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: hivemind-dev-unsubscribe@jakarta.apache.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: hivemind-dev-help@jakarta.apache.org
> 
>

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: hivemind-dev-unsubscribe@jakarta.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: hivemind-dev-help@jakarta.apache.org