You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Alexey Yudichev <ay...@newmail.ru> on 2006/01/06 23:44:40 UTC

Re[2]: Merge of deleted file with a modified one

> [snip]
>> I discovered that if I
>> 1) create a branch from trunk via svn copy
>> 2) delete a file in branch and commit
>> 3) modify the same file in trunk and commit
>> 4) merge branch to trunk
>> I get the file deleted. Which means I lose my changes made in trunk.
> [snip]

> The file should not get deleted; rather, it should become unversioned
> in your working copy. If that's not what happens, please provide a  
> transcript showing what you did.

Similar discussion is here:

  http://svn.haxx.se/users/archive-2005-03/0739.shtml
  http://svn.haxx.se/users/archive-2005-03/0744.shtml (same thread,
  just different posting)

Here is my transcript:

==================================================
C:\temp\1>svn co http://localhost/repos/prj/trunk .
A    123.txt
A    new-branch4-file.txt
A    new-trunk-file.txt
A    12345.xml
Checked out revision 31.

C:\temp\1>svn copy http://localhost/repos/prj/trunk http://localhost/repos/prj/branches/demo-branch -m"created demo branch"

Committed revision 32.

C:\temp\1>notepad 123.txt

C:\temp\1>svn commit 123.txt -m"edited 123.txt"
Sending        123.txt
Transmitting file data .
Committed revision 33.

C:\temp\1>svn switch http://localhost/repos/prj/branches/demo-branch
U    123.txt
Updated to revision 33.

C:\temp\1>svn delete 123.txt
D         123.txt

C:\temp\1>svn commit 123.txt -m"deleted 123.txt"
Deleting       123.txt

Committed revision 34.

C:\temp\1>svn switch http://localhost/repos/prj/trunk
A    123.txt
Updated to revision 34.

C:\temp\1>svn merge -r32:34 http://localhost/repos/prj/branches/demo-branch --dry-run
D    123.txt

C:\temp\1>svn merge -r32:34 http://localhost/repos/prj/branches/demo-branch
D    123.txt
=============================

here 123.txt gets silently deleted locally and marked for deletion in
repository. If I commit, my changes to 123.txt would be silently lost.
By "lost" I mean that there would be no warnings, no conflicts etc.
Which in a big project with many correctly removed files, this
deletion will be lost among them.


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org