You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Ryan Schmidt <su...@ryandesign.com> on 2006/08/21 22:56:44 UTC

Re: Why won't `svn revert` restore directories?

On Aug 21, 2006, at 14:30, Piotr Przybylak wrote:

> 2006/7/18, Ryan Schmidt wrote:
>
>> If OTOH you did "rm -rf <directory>" then you could not "svn revert
>> <directory>" because the rm -rf also removed the .svn directory with
>> the pristine files.
>
> So what one should do to make local working copy usable again, without
> deleting the whole working copy and checking it out again. In other
> words how can you revert just this deleted directory ?

Just so we're clear: you should not delete a versioned directory  
using "rm -rf <directory>" or equivalent, because Subversion does not  
know that you have done this. You should be using "svn rm  
<directory>" if you want to schedule a directory for removal from  
version control, and if you want to undo that scheduled removal, then  
you "svn revert <directory>" to bring it back.

If you have however used "rm -rf <directory>" and now want it back,  
then "svn revert <directory>" doesn't work, as explained above. In  
fact, if I try it with Subversion 1.3.2, it prints this error message:

Failed to revert '<directory>' -- try updating instead.

So the solution is, as the message states, to "svn up <directory>"  
instead and it'll pull the current version down from the server again.


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org