You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to ivy-user@ant.apache.org by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com> on 2009/01/06 00:19:22 UTC

Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as possible
here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven. Eclipse is
our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice today..
I am using this update site:
http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
towel and setup Maven.
Thanks,
Paul

-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Nicolas Lalevée <ni...@hibnet.org>.
Mondain a écrit :
> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as possible
> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven. Eclipse is
> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice today..
> I am using this update site:
> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
> towel and setup Maven.
> Thanks,
> Paul
>   
First what is your build problem ?
Does the Ivy console [1] show any error after a resolve ?


Nicolas


[1] http://ant.apache.org/ivy/ivyde/history/latest-milestone/console.html


Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Konstantin Rekk <ko...@gbv.de>.
No, I imported the ivy project itself.

/home/someuser/bin/eclipse/eclipse -clean -showlocation  -vmargs
-Xms512m -Xmx900m  -XX:PermSize=128m  -XX:MaxPermSize=128m
-Duser.name="xxx"  -Djava.library.path=/usr/local/lib

java version "1.6.0_07"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_07-b06)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 10.0-b23, mixed mode, sharing)

Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description:    Ubuntu 8.04.1
Release:        8.04
Codename:       hardy

... by mentioning nb I only wanted to say that I'm not an eclipse
expert ;-) and the ivy project comes already as an eclipse project using
IvyDE , so it was easy to set it up. No problems so far.

Best!

On Mon, 2009-01-05 at 21:43 -0800, Mondain wrote:
> Do you mean you imported the Red5 project? and I do have Netbeans 6.x
> installed, how is that related (im more happy to uninstall it)?
> Heres my java version:
> java version "1.6.0_10"
> Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_10-b33)
> Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 11.0-b15, mixed mode)
> 
> And my eclipse startup:
> C:\eclipse\eclipse.exe -vm C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\javaw -vmargs
> -Duser.language=en -Xmx1024M -XX:MaxPermSize=512M
> -Dsun.rmi.dgc.client.gcInterval=3600000
> -Dsun.rmi.dgc.server.gcInterval=3600000 -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true
> 
> I'm using WindowsXP x64
> 
> Paul
> 
> On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 6:39 PM, Konstantin Rekk <ko...@gbv.de>wrote:
> 
> > Using
> >
> > Version: 3.4.1
> > Build id: M20080911-1700
> >
> > (linux, Java 1.6)
> >
> > with same updatesite.
> >
> > It works and I was just able to build and run the ivy project (co from
> > svn) after import in Eclipse (although using NB most of the time cause
> > of eclipse plugin nightmare ;-) ).
> >
> >
> >
> > On Mon, 2009-01-05 at 15:42 -0800, Mondain wrote:
> > > Version: 3.4.1
> > > Build id: M20080911-1700
> > >
> >
> >
> >
> 
> 
-- 
Konstantin Rekk
VZG (GBV), Göttingen, Berlin
0176 2100 6000
030 29003511
skype: krekk1970 
rekk@gbv.de
http://www.gbv.de


Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com>.
Do you mean you imported the Red5 project? and I do have Netbeans 6.x
installed, how is that related (im more happy to uninstall it)?
Heres my java version:
java version "1.6.0_10"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_10-b33)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 11.0-b15, mixed mode)

And my eclipse startup:
C:\eclipse\eclipse.exe -vm C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\javaw -vmargs
-Duser.language=en -Xmx1024M -XX:MaxPermSize=512M
-Dsun.rmi.dgc.client.gcInterval=3600000
-Dsun.rmi.dgc.server.gcInterval=3600000 -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true

I'm using WindowsXP x64

Paul

On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 6:39 PM, Konstantin Rekk <ko...@gbv.de>wrote:

> Using
>
> Version: 3.4.1
> Build id: M20080911-1700
>
> (linux, Java 1.6)
>
> with same updatesite.
>
> It works and I was just able to build and run the ivy project (co from
> svn) after import in Eclipse (although using NB most of the time cause
> of eclipse plugin nightmare ;-) ).
>
>
>
> On Mon, 2009-01-05 at 15:42 -0800, Mondain wrote:
> > Version: 3.4.1
> > Build id: M20080911-1700
> >
>
>
>


-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Konstantin Rekk <ko...@gbv.de>.
Using

Version: 3.4.1
Build id: M20080911-1700

(linux, Java 1.6)

with same updatesite.

It works and I was just able to build and run the ivy project (co from
svn) after import in Eclipse (although using NB most of the time cause
of eclipse plugin nightmare ;-) ).



On Mon, 2009-01-05 at 15:42 -0800, Mondain wrote:
> Version: 3.4.1
> Build id: M20080911-1700
> 



Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com>.
Thank you Daniel, it is mostly working now! (dependency resolving probs)
Paul

On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 1:58 PM, Becheanu, Daniel <db...@cars.com> wrote:

> That is a bug solved in main line
> http://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/IVYDE-136
>
> You can
> download and build ivyde locally from trunk  and use that version( Hack
> replace ivyde-eclipse.jar from eclipse with the one build buy build script).
> Or if you can try using the attached file( is build from trunk few days
> back)
>
> Daniel
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com]
> Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 3:39 PM
> To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
> Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
>
> I checked out the Nabble info and based on it, I removed all the entries
> for
> ivy in my eclipse/artifacts.xml file. I then installed the IvyDE and
> restarted, after Eclipse came back up I took a look at
> Window->Preferences->Ivy and noticed an error..
> Here is the entire log: http://pastebin.com/m453f787a
>
> I dont know what equinox is but it seems to have an issue with ivy.
>
> Paul
>
> On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 12:07 PM, Maarten Coene <maarten_coene@yahoo.com
> >wrote:
>
> > Anyone has an idea what can cause this error?
> > Maybe there is something wrong with the ivy-rc2 plugin?
> >
> > Maarten
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > ----- Original Message ----
> > From: "Becheanu, Daniel" <db...@cars.com>
> > To: "ivy-user@ant.apache.org" <iv...@ant.apache.org>
> > Sent: Tuesday, January 6, 2009 8:22:29 PM
> > Subject: RE: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
> >
> > Check this link:
> >
> >
> http://www.nabble.com/Failed-to-prepare-partial-IU:-Error-while-Updating-from-ivyDE-alpha-to-ivyDE-beta1-td20901882.html
> >
> > Uninstall your ivyde from eclipse ( if you can see it in Help-> Software
> > Updates -> Installed software)
> >
> > You should follow step 2. I think artifacts.xml for eclipse is in
> > <eclipse_home_dir>
> >
> > Daniel
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com]
> > Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 11:59 AM
> > To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
> > Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
> >
> > I tried twice more to install the plugin. The last time I removed the ivy
> > directory from eclipse/plugins to see if that was causing the issue; it
> was
> > not, the install continues to fail now.
> > Paul
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>
> --
> http://gregoire.org/
> http://osflash.org/red5
>



-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

RE: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by "Becheanu, Daniel" <db...@cars.com>.
That is a bug solved in main line
http://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/IVYDE-136

You can 
download and build ivyde locally from trunk  and use that version( Hack replace ivyde-eclipse.jar from eclipse with the one build buy build script).
Or if you can try using the attached file( is build from trunk few days back)

Daniel

-----Original Message-----
From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 3:39 PM
To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

I checked out the Nabble info and based on it, I removed all the entries for
ivy in my eclipse/artifacts.xml file. I then installed the IvyDE and
restarted, after Eclipse came back up I took a look at
Window->Preferences->Ivy and noticed an error..
Here is the entire log: http://pastebin.com/m453f787a

I dont know what equinox is but it seems to have an issue with ivy.

Paul

On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 12:07 PM, Maarten Coene <ma...@yahoo.com>wrote:

> Anyone has an idea what can cause this error?
> Maybe there is something wrong with the ivy-rc2 plugin?
>
> Maarten
>
>
>
>
> ----- Original Message ----
> From: "Becheanu, Daniel" <db...@cars.com>
> To: "ivy-user@ant.apache.org" <iv...@ant.apache.org>
> Sent: Tuesday, January 6, 2009 8:22:29 PM
> Subject: RE: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
>
> Check this link:
>
> http://www.nabble.com/Failed-to-prepare-partial-IU:-Error-while-Updating-from-ivyDE-alpha-to-ivyDE-beta1-td20901882.html
>
> Uninstall your ivyde from eclipse ( if you can see it in Help-> Software
> Updates -> Installed software)
>
> You should follow step 2. I think artifacts.xml for eclipse is in
> <eclipse_home_dir>
>
> Daniel
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com]
> Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 11:59 AM
> To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
> Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
>
> I tried twice more to install the plugin. The last time I removed the ivy
> directory from eclipse/plugins to see if that was causing the issue; it was
> not, the install continues to fail now.
> Paul
>
>
>
>
>


-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com>.
I checked out the Nabble info and based on it, I removed all the entries for
ivy in my eclipse/artifacts.xml file. I then installed the IvyDE and
restarted, after Eclipse came back up I took a look at
Window->Preferences->Ivy and noticed an error..
Here is the entire log: http://pastebin.com/m453f787a

I dont know what equinox is but it seems to have an issue with ivy.

Paul

On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 12:07 PM, Maarten Coene <ma...@yahoo.com>wrote:

> Anyone has an idea what can cause this error?
> Maybe there is something wrong with the ivy-rc2 plugin?
>
> Maarten
>
>
>
>
> ----- Original Message ----
> From: "Becheanu, Daniel" <db...@cars.com>
> To: "ivy-user@ant.apache.org" <iv...@ant.apache.org>
> Sent: Tuesday, January 6, 2009 8:22:29 PM
> Subject: RE: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
>
> Check this link:
>
> http://www.nabble.com/Failed-to-prepare-partial-IU:-Error-while-Updating-from-ivyDE-alpha-to-ivyDE-beta1-td20901882.html
>
> Uninstall your ivyde from eclipse ( if you can see it in Help-> Software
> Updates -> Installed software)
>
> You should follow step 2. I think artifacts.xml for eclipse is in
> <eclipse_home_dir>
>
> Daniel
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com]
> Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 11:59 AM
> To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
> Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
>
> I tried twice more to install the plugin. The last time I removed the ivy
> directory from eclipse/plugins to see if that was causing the issue; it was
> not, the install continues to fail now.
> Paul
>
>
>
>
>


-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Maarten Coene <ma...@yahoo.com>.
Anyone has an idea what can cause this error?
Maybe there is something wrong with the ivy-rc2 plugin?

Maarten




----- Original Message ----
From: "Becheanu, Daniel" <db...@cars.com>
To: "ivy-user@ant.apache.org" <iv...@ant.apache.org>
Sent: Tuesday, January 6, 2009 8:22:29 PM
Subject: RE: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Check this link:
http://www.nabble.com/Failed-to-prepare-partial-IU:-Error-while-Updating-from-ivyDE-alpha-to-ivyDE-beta1-td20901882.html

Uninstall your ivyde from eclipse ( if you can see it in Help-> Software Updates -> Installed software)

You should follow step 2. I think artifacts.xml for eclipse is in <eclipse_home_dir>

Daniel

-----Original Message-----
From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 11:59 AM
To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

I tried twice more to install the plugin. The last time I removed the ivy
directory from eclipse/plugins to see if that was causing the issue; it was
not, the install continues to fail now.
Paul



      

RE: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by "Becheanu, Daniel" <db...@cars.com>.
Check this link:
http://www.nabble.com/Failed-to-prepare-partial-IU:-Error-while-Updating-from-ivyDE-alpha-to-ivyDE-beta1-td20901882.html

Uninstall your ivyde from eclipse ( if you can see it in Help-> Software Updates -> Installed software)

You should follow step 2. I think artifacts.xml for eclipse is in <eclipse_home_dir>

Daniel

-----Original Message-----
From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 11:59 AM
To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

I tried twice more to install the plugin. The last time I removed the ivy
directory from eclipse/plugins to see if that was causing the issue; it was
not, the install continues to fail now.
Paul

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com>.
I tried twice more to install the plugin. The last time I removed the ivy
directory from eclipse/plugins to see if that was causing the issue; it was
not, the install continues to fail now.
Paul

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com>.
Ok, I launched with -clean -debug and -consoleLog prepended on the command
line and then did the IvyDE install via update and I got this error:
An error occurred during provisioning.
  Failed to prepare partial IU: [R]org.apache.ivy 2.0.0.cr2.

The only error in the log after start was this:

eclipse.buildId=M20080911-1700
java.version=1.6.0_07
java.vendor=Sun Microsystems Inc.
BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86, WS=win32, NL=en_US
Framework arguments:  256M
Command-line arguments:  -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86 256M -clean -debug
-consoleLog

Warning
Tue Jan 06 09:41:10 PST 2009
Ignored reentrant call while viewer is busy. This is only logged once per
viewer instance, but similar calls will still be ignored.

java.lang.RuntimeException
at org.eclipse.jface.viewers.ColumnViewer.checkBusy(ColumnViewer.java:763)
at org.eclipse.jface.viewers.ColumnViewer.update(ColumnViewer.java:552)
at
org.eclipse.ui.model.WorkbenchContentProvider$4.run(WorkbenchContentProvider.java:304)
at
org.eclipse.ui.model.WorkbenchContentProvider.runUpdates(WorkbenchContentProvider.java:129)
at
org.eclipse.ui.model.WorkbenchContentProvider.processDelta(WorkbenchContentProvider.java:102)
at
org.eclipse.ui.model.WorkbenchContentProvider.resourceChanged(WorkbenchContentProvider.java:76)
at
org.eclipse.core.internal.events.NotificationManager$2.run(NotificationManager.java:288)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.SafeRunner.run(SafeRunner.java:37)
at
org.eclipse.core.internal.events.NotificationManager.notify(NotificationManager.java:282)
at
org.eclipse.core.internal.events.NotificationManager.broadcastChanges(NotificationManager.java:148)
at
org.eclipse.core.internal.resources.Workspace.broadcastPostChange(Workspace.java:313)
at
org.eclipse.core.internal.resources.Workspace.endOperation(Workspace.java:1022)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.resources.Workspace.run(Workspace.java:1809)
at
org.eclipse.jdt.internal.core.JavaModelManager.initializeAllContainers(JavaModelManager.java:2317)
at
org.eclipse.jdt.internal.core.JavaModelManager.getClasspathContainer(JavaModelManager.java:1679)
at org.eclipse.jdt.core.JavaCore.getClasspathContainer(JavaCore.java:2554)
at
org.eclipse.jdt.internal.core.JavaProject.resolveClasspath(JavaProject.java:2562)
at
org.eclipse.jdt.internal.core.JavaProject.getResolvedClasspath(JavaProject.java:1829)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.core.JavaProject.contains(JavaProject.java:657)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.core.JavaModel.contains(JavaModel.java:107)
at
org.eclipse.jdt.internal.ui.JavaElementContainmentAdapter.contains(JavaElementContainmentAdapter.java:42)
at
org.eclipse.ui.ResourceWorkingSetFilter.isEnclosed(ResourceWorkingSetFilter.java:102)
at
org.eclipse.ui.ResourceWorkingSetFilter.select(ResourceWorkingSetFilter.java:67)
at org.eclipse.jface.viewers.ViewerFilter.filter(ViewerFilter.java:51)
at
org.eclipse.ui.ResourceWorkingSetFilter.filter(ResourceWorkingSetFilter.java:168)
at
org.eclipse.jface.viewers.AbstractTreeViewer.getFilteredChildren(AbstractTreeViewer.java:640)
at
org.eclipse.jface.viewers.AbstractTreeViewer.getSortedChildren(AbstractTreeViewer.java:602)
at
org.eclipse.jface.viewers.AbstractTreeViewer$1.run(AbstractTreeViewer.java:799)
at org.eclipse.swt.custom.BusyIndicator.showWhile(BusyIndicator.java:70)
at
org.eclipse.jface.viewers.AbstractTreeViewer.createChildren(AbstractTreeViewer.java:776)
at org.eclipse.jface.viewers.TreeViewer.createChildren(TreeViewer.java:634)
at
org.eclipse.jface.viewers.AbstractTreeViewer.internalExpand(AbstractTreeViewer.java:1578)
at
org.eclipse.jface.viewers.AbstractTreeViewer.setExpandedElements(AbstractTreeViewer.java:2350)
at
org.eclipse.ui.views.navigator.ResourceNavigator.restoreState(ResourceNavigator.java:1064)
at
org.eclipse.ui.views.navigator.ResourceNavigator.createPartControl(ResourceNavigator.java:319)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.ViewReference.createPartHelper(ViewReference.java:371)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ViewReference.createPart(ViewReference.java:230)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPartReference.getPart(WorkbenchPartReference.java:594)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.PartPane.setVisible(PartPane.java:306)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ViewPane.setVisible(ViewPane.java:531)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.presentations.PresentablePart.setVisible(PresentablePart.java:180)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.presentations.util.PresentablePartFolder.select(PresentablePartFolder.java:270)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.presentations.util.LeftToRightTabOrder.select(LeftToRightTabOrder.java:65)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.presentations.util.TabbedStackPresentation.selectPart(TabbedStackPresentation.java:473)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.PartStack.refreshPresentationSelection(PartStack.java:1256)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.PartStack.createControl(PartStack.java:668)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.PartStack.createControl(PartStack.java:576)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.PartSashContainer.createControl(PartSashContainer.java:568)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.PerspectiveHelper.activate(PerspectiveHelper.java:271)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.Perspective.onActivate(Perspective.java:964)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPage.onActivate(WorkbenchPage.java:2593)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchWindow$25.run(WorkbenchWindow.java:2873)
at org.eclipse.swt.custom.BusyIndicator.showWhile(BusyIndicator.java:70)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchWindow.setActivePage(WorkbenchWindow.java:2854)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchWindow$19.runWithException(WorkbenchWindow.java:2171)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.StartupThreading$StartupRunnable.run(StartupThreading.java:31)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.RunnableLock.run(RunnableLock.java:35)
at
org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Synchronizer.runAsyncMessages(Synchronizer.java:133)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.runAsyncMessages(Display.java:3800)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.readAndDispatch(Display.java:3425)
at
org.eclipse.ui.application.WorkbenchAdvisor.openWindows(WorkbenchAdvisor.java:803)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench$27.runWithException(Workbench.java:1361)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.StartupThreading$StartupRunnable.run(StartupThreading.java:31)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.RunnableLock.run(RunnableLock.java:35)
at
org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Synchronizer.runAsyncMessages(Synchronizer.java:133)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.runAsyncMessages(Display.java:3800)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.readAndDispatch(Display.java:3425)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench.runUI(Workbench.java:2293)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench.access$4(Workbench.java:2198)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench$5.run(Workbench.java:493)
at
org.eclipse.core.databinding.observable.Realm.runWithDefault(Realm.java:288)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench.createAndRunWorkbench(Workbench.java:488)
at org.eclipse.ui.PlatformUI.createAndRunWorkbench(PlatformUI.java:149)
at
org.eclipse.ui.internal.ide.application.IDEApplication.start(IDEApplication.java:113)
at
org.eclipse.equinox.internal.app.EclipseAppHandle.run(EclipseAppHandle.java:193)
at
org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.runApplication(EclipseAppLauncher.java:110)
at
org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.start(EclipseAppLauncher.java:79)
at
org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:386)
at
org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:179)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.invokeFramework(Main.java:549)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.basicRun(Main.java:504)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.run(Main.java:1236)
at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.main(Main.java:1212)



Ill try again and see if I get better results.

Paul

On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 9:21 AM, Becheanu, Daniel <db...@cars.com> wrote:

> Can you start your eclipse with
> eclipse.exe -clean -debug -consoleLog
>
> ( this should printout any errors you might have)
>
> Daniel
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com]
> Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 11:13 AM
> To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
> Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE
>
> The build works perfectly using Ant on the command line. My issue is that
> the IvyDE does not work in Eclipse (for Me), even after
> uninstall/reinstall.
> I dont get an option to add the Ivy managed build path to my project from
> Package Explorer. Lastly, I am not trying to build Ivy or the IvyDE, I am
> using the version from the update site.
> Paul
>
> On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 7:04 AM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> > It works fine for me too (with Eclipse 3.4.1 ). May be - you can try to
> > change the perspective to plugin perspective and see if there are any
> errors
> > indicated when you try to launch it.
> >
> > Does it(Ivy-based build system) work from the command-line too.
> >
> >
> > Mondain wrote:
> >
> >> Version: 3.4.1
> >> Build id: M20080911-1700
> >>
> >> On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 3:34 PM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com>
> wrote:
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>> Mondain wrote:
> >>>
> >>>
> >>>
> >>>> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as
> >>>> possible
> >>>> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
> >>>> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven.
> >>>> Eclipse
> >>>> is
> >>>> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our
> deps
> >>>> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in
> Eclipse
> >>>> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice
> >>>> today..
> >>>> I am using this update site:
> >>>> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
> >>>> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
> >>>> towel and setup Maven.
> >>>> Thanks,
> >>>> Paul
> >>>>
> >>>>
> >>>>
> >>>>
> >>>>
> >>> what is the Eclipse version that you are using.
> >>>
> >>>
> >>>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>
> --
> http://gregoire.org/
> http://osflash.org/red5
>



-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

RE: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by "Becheanu, Daniel" <db...@cars.com>.
Can you start your eclipse with
eclipse.exe -clean -debug -consoleLog 

( this should printout any errors you might have)

Daniel

-----Original Message-----
From: Mondain [mailto:mondain@gmail.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2009 11:13 AM
To: ivy-user@ant.apache.org
Subject: Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

The build works perfectly using Ant on the command line. My issue is that
the IvyDE does not work in Eclipse (for Me), even after uninstall/reinstall.
I dont get an option to add the Ivy managed build path to my project from
Package Explorer. Lastly, I am not trying to build Ivy or the IvyDE, I am
using the version from the update site.
Paul

On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 7:04 AM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:

> It works fine for me too (with Eclipse 3.4.1 ). May be - you can try to
> change the perspective to plugin perspective and see if there are any errors
> indicated when you try to launch it.
>
> Does it(Ivy-based build system) work from the command-line too.
>
>
> Mondain wrote:
>
>> Version: 3.4.1
>> Build id: M20080911-1700
>>
>> On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 3:34 PM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>> Mondain wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as
>>>> possible
>>>> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
>>>> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven.
>>>> Eclipse
>>>> is
>>>> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
>>>> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
>>>> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice
>>>> today..
>>>> I am using this update site:
>>>> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
>>>> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
>>>> towel and setup Maven.
>>>> Thanks,
>>>> Paul
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>> what is the Eclipse version that you are using.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
>


-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com>.
Even if you are not trying to build IvyDE - when you actually launch it 
/ use it ,  you can see some important information logged in the 
plugin-development perspective / view - where the messages from the 
plugin are logged.

Does it say anything interesting / when you view that perspective / 
messages.

Mondain wrote:
> The build works perfectly using Ant on the command line. My issue is that
> the IvyDE does not work in Eclipse (for Me), even after uninstall/reinstall.
> I dont get an option to add the Ivy managed build path to my project from
> Package Explorer. Lastly, I am not trying to build Ivy or the IvyDE, I am
> using the version from the update site.
> Paul
>
> On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 7:04 AM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>   
>> It works fine for me too (with Eclipse 3.4.1 ). May be - you can try to
>> change the perspective to plugin perspective and see if there are any errors
>> indicated when you try to launch it.
>>
>> Does it(Ivy-based build system) work from the command-line too.
>>
>>
>> Mondain wrote:
>>
>>     
>>> Version: 3.4.1
>>> Build id: M20080911-1700
>>>
>>> On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 3:34 PM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>       
>>>> Mondain wrote:
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>         
>>>>> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as
>>>>> possible
>>>>> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
>>>>> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven.
>>>>> Eclipse
>>>>> is
>>>>> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
>>>>> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
>>>>> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice
>>>>> today..
>>>>> I am using this update site:
>>>>> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
>>>>> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
>>>>> towel and setup Maven.
>>>>> Thanks,
>>>>> Paul
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>           
>>>> what is the Eclipse version that you are using.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>         
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>       
>>     
>
>
>   


Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com>.
The build works perfectly using Ant on the command line. My issue is that
the IvyDE does not work in Eclipse (for Me), even after uninstall/reinstall.
I dont get an option to add the Ivy managed build path to my project from
Package Explorer. Lastly, I am not trying to build Ivy or the IvyDE, I am
using the version from the update site.
Paul

On Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 7:04 AM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:

> It works fine for me too (with Eclipse 3.4.1 ). May be - you can try to
> change the perspective to plugin perspective and see if there are any errors
> indicated when you try to launch it.
>
> Does it(Ivy-based build system) work from the command-line too.
>
>
> Mondain wrote:
>
>> Version: 3.4.1
>> Build id: M20080911-1700
>>
>> On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 3:34 PM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>> Mondain wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as
>>>> possible
>>>> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
>>>> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven.
>>>> Eclipse
>>>> is
>>>> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
>>>> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
>>>> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice
>>>> today..
>>>> I am using this update site:
>>>> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
>>>> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
>>>> towel and setup Maven.
>>>> Thanks,
>>>> Paul
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>> what is the Eclipse version that you are using.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
>


-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com>.
It works fine for me too (with Eclipse 3.4.1 ). May be - you can try to 
change the perspective to plugin perspective and see if there are any 
errors indicated when you try to launch it.

Does it(Ivy-based build system) work from the command-line too.

Mondain wrote:
> Version: 3.4.1
> Build id: M20080911-1700
>
> On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 3:34 PM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>   
>> Mondain wrote:
>>
>>     
>>> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as possible
>>> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
>>> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven. Eclipse
>>> is
>>> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
>>> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
>>> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice
>>> today..
>>> I am using this update site:
>>> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
>>> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
>>> towel and setup Maven.
>>> Thanks,
>>> Paul
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>       
>> what is the Eclipse version that you are using.
>>
>>     
>
>
>
>   


Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Mondain <mo...@gmail.com>.
Version: 3.4.1
Build id: M20080911-1700

On Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 3:34 PM, Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com> wrote:

> Mondain wrote:
>
>> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as possible
>> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
>> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven. Eclipse
>> is
>> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
>> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
>> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice
>> today..
>> I am using this update site:
>> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
>> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
>> towel and setup Maven.
>> Thanks,
>> Paul
>>
>>
>>
> what is the Eclipse version that you are using.
>



-- 
http://gregoire.org/
http://osflash.org/red5

Re: Eclipse 3.4 and IvyDE

Posted by Kay Kay <ka...@gmail.com>.
Mondain wrote:
> I'm beyond frustrated at this point, but I will be as succinct as possible
> here. I am a core developer on the Red5 project and I implemented Ivy
> for dependency handling some time ago (>1 year) in lieu of Maven. Eclipse is
> our IDE of choice so naturally we try to use the IvyDE to keep our deps
> dynamically linked in the IDE. As of right now I cannot build in Eclipse
> using the IvyDE and I have uninstalled / reinstalled at least twice today..
> I am using this update site:
> http://www.apache.org/dist/ant/ivyde/updatesiteand would like any
> suggestions this list may provide before I throw in the
> towel and setup Maven.
> Thanks,
> Paul
>
>   
what is the Eclipse version that you are using.