You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Barnet Wagman <b....@comcast.net> on 2004/06/13 12:58:40 UTC
Delete uncommitted working copy? (neophyte question)
Can I safely delete an uncommitted working copy (assuming that I want to
lose any and all changes)? I.e. does a repository track working copies
in any way?
Thanks
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Re: Delete uncommitted working copy? (neophyte question)
Posted by Max Bowsher <ma...@ukf.net>.
Barnet Wagman wrote:
> Can I safely delete an uncommitted working copy (assuming that I want to
> lose any and all changes)?
Yes.
> I.e. does a repository track working copies
> in any way?
No.
Max.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Re: Delete uncommitted working copy? (neophyte question)
Posted by "Øyvind A. Holm" <su...@sunbase.org>.
On 2004-06-13 07:58-0500 Barnet Wagman wrote:
> Can I safely delete an uncommitted working copy (assuming that I want
> to lose any and all changes)? I.e. does a repository track working
> copies in any way?
The repository does only know about commited files. If you have added a
new file (svn add) without commiting it, the file is only marked in your
local copy as added, and changes to the repository will be only be done
when you commit the file. If you add a file and want to undo that add,
you can use "svn revert" to revert to the unadded state. If you delete a
newly added uncommited file without resetting the add flag, svn will
regard this file as missing and it will be marked with a '!' in "svn
stat".
Mvh,
Øyvind A. Holm
---------------------
cat /dev/urandom >SCO