You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Jeff Vincent <jv...@novell.com> on 2005/12/15 18:19:03 UTC

logging behavior with moved files...

My searches and frequent episodes of RTFM have not clarified something
regarding the logging behavior of moved files (and directories?).

We have a subdirectory and some files that were moved and committed at
revision 704 of our repository and have not changed since (currently at
rev 722).  If I do "svn log" on any of those files with revisions >=
704, I only see the log entry for the commit of the move.  If I update
to revision < 704 and do "svn log" on those same files, I get the
history I would have expected clear back to when the files were checked
in.

I thought the history moved with the files?  Shouldn't the log command
show me all the history of a file, regardless how many times it got
moved?

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org

RE: logging behavior with moved files...

Posted by Gavin Lambert <ga...@compacsort.com>.
Quoth Jeff Vincent <ma...@novell.com>:
> We have a subdirectory and some files that were moved and
> committed at revision 704 of our repository and have not
> changed since (currently at rev 722).  If I do "svn log" on
> any of those files with revisions >= 704, I only see the log
> entry for the commit of the move.  If I update to revision <
> 704 and do "svn log" on those same files, I get the history I
> would have expected clear back to when the files were checked in.
> 
> I thought the history moved with the files?  Shouldn't the
> log command show me all the history of a file, regardless how many
> times it got moved? 

You did use svn mv, right, not your OS move command?

And are you using the svn command-line client directly or through a GUI?
The command-line defaults to showing all logs unless you use
--stop-on-copy, but many GUIs default to --stop-on-copy, with an
additional button somewhere to retrieve the rest of the history.


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org