You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Bosnjak Zoran ITWEP1 <Bo...@iskratel.si> on 2006/01/13 15:43:57 UTC

remote development optimization

May I copy or move a "working copy" and then use it normaly (as if I
just did a clean checkout)? 

Do I need to do run "svn update" or anything else, before use a clone of
working copy?

For example:

user1:
$svn checkout repos/proj1 p1
<user1 does not make any changes to p1 after checkout or update>

user2:
$cp -a user1/p1 ./p2
$cd p2
$svn switch repos/mybranch
<edit, svn add, svn delete...>
$svn commit

user3:
- same procedure as user2 

Is this regular procedure?

In my example user1 (virtual), user2 and user3 are on (same) remote
location with slow https connection to the reposotory, but the project
is big. I want to transfer a big chunk of data only once and then share
this data inside the group. May I use "svn update" and local copy
safely?

Is there any other "best practice" to replicate server's information for
faster remote access.

Thanks for your help.

regards,
Zoran


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org


Re: remote development optimization

Posted by Garrett Rooney <ro...@electricjellyfish.net>.
On 1/13/06, Bosnjak Zoran    ITWEP1 <Bo...@iskratel.si> wrote:
> May I copy or move a "working copy" and then use it normaly (as if I
> just did a clean checkout)?

Yes, you can.

-garrett

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org


Re: remote development optimization

Posted by Ryan Schmidt <su...@ryandesign.com>.
On Jan 13, 2006, at 16:43, Bosnjak Zoran ITWEP1 wrote:

> May I copy or move a "working copy" and then use it normaly (as if I
> just did a clean checkout)?
>
> Do I need to do run "svn update" or anything else, before use a  
> clone of
> working copy?

Yes, that's fine. I do this when I already have a working copy, and  
I'm working on a task, and I need to quickly take care of a different  
task.

$ svn cp -RPp trunk trunk2

In the new copy, I revert the changes I was making:

$ svn revert -R trunk2

And then I update it to make sure I'm at the latest version.

$ svn up trunk2

Then I can start working on the second task in trunk2 without  
affecting the first task in trunk.

You don't need to run "svn up" if you're already at the most recent  
version.




---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org