You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by "Charles E. Doucette" <cd...@med-learn.com> on 2004/01/19 21:14:45 UTC
strange merge situation - file deleted after initial merge and before commit is created in repos (but missing from logs)
In order to merge our clients updates to our site, I created a branch
with their changes.
Then, I tried to merge their changes into the main-line of development.
They had created a new directory (content), and had added new files such as:
content/about_stats.aspx
After merging their changes, I discovered what they had done wouldn't work.
A few of their files had to be split into two files, i.e.
content/about_stats1.aspx and content/about_stats2.aspx.
I tried to rename content/about_stats.aspx; but, since I hand't checked
in the result of the merge (to get an original version of that file in
that directory), it wouldn't let me do the rename. Rather than
checking in the complete file as-is, I forced a delete of it
and then added about_stats1.aspx and about_stats2.aspx.
Now, my original development directory is fine (without the deleted file - even after updating); but, whenever I do
a checkout or an export I still get a copy of about_stats.aspx
(even though it was deleted from the merge and never checked
into the main line). Also, whenever I try to look for that file
in the log messages, it isn't found.
Any insight is appreciated.
Thanks,
Chuck
p.s. I'll hold-off deleting the file from the repository in case
anyone wants to use our repository as evidence.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
RE: strange merge situation - file deleted after initial merge and before commit is created in repos (but missing from logs)
Posted by "Charles E. Doucette" <cd...@med-learn.com>.
Sorry - I forgot to mention that for the record we're running Subversion 0.35.1 on Windows 2000 and XP (with Tortoise SVN 0.24)
using Apache 2.0.48.
Chuck
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Charles E. Doucette [mailto:cdoucette@med-learn.com]
> Sent: Monday, January 19, 2004 4:15 PM
> To: users@subversion.tigris.org
> Cc: karl@med-learn.com
> Subject: strange merge situation - file deleted after initial
> merge and before commit is created in repos (but missing from logs)
>
>
> In order to merge our clients updates to our site, I created
> a branch with their changes.
>
> Then, I tried to merge their changes into the main-line of
> development.
>
> They had created a new directory (content), and had added new
> files such as:
>
> content/about_stats.aspx
>
> After merging their changes, I discovered what they had done
> wouldn't work. A few of their files had to be split into two
> files, i.e.
>
> content/about_stats1.aspx and content/about_stats2.aspx.
>
> I tried to rename content/about_stats.aspx; but, since I
> hand't checked in the result of the merge (to get an original
> version of that file in that directory), it wouldn't let me
> do the rename. Rather than checking in the complete file
> as-is, I forced a delete of it and then added
> about_stats1.aspx and about_stats2.aspx.
>
> Now, my original development directory is fine (without the
> deleted file - even after updating); but, whenever I do a
> checkout or an export I still get a copy of about_stats.aspx
> (even though it was deleted from the merge and never checked
> into the main line). Also, whenever I try to look for that
> file in the log messages, it isn't found.
>
> Any insight is appreciated.
>
> Thanks,
> Chuck
>
> p.s. I'll hold-off deleting the file from the repository in case
> anyone wants to use our repository as evidence.
>
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
>
>
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org