You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@openoffice.apache.org by "derekj535@sky.com" <de...@sky.com> on 2015/05/13 12:34:55 UTC

lable printing

 Hi, I have apache open office 4.1.1. on my laptop, is it possible to print labels from 1 to 250 without having to type the numbers one at a time?                                                                             Thanks..  

Re: lable printing

Posted by Julian Thomas <jt...@jt-mj.net>.
> On May 13, 2015, at 21:02, Martin Groenescheij <Ma...@Groenescheij.COM> wrote:
> 
> Copied from an older answer by mt:
> ==========================
> There are step-by-step instructions in Open Office online Help -copied and pasted below (AOO for Mac) for your convenience:

I have had a lot of difficulty setting up a label with a combination of fixed information [including a graphic] and merge fields.  It was aggravated by the nature of the 'labels' where I wanted the same info on the left and the right label for each merge field [although I was willing to manipulate the merge file to duplicate each entry].

Not sure how I resolved this; I know that there was some kludgery involved.

IIRC it wasn't a piece of cake in MS office either!

 —
jt - jt@jt-mj.net

A 2 year old's answer to everything: "No!" You can learn a lot from a 2 year old.... 





---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@openoffice.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@openoffice.apache.org


Re: lable printing

Posted by Martin Groenescheij <Ma...@Groenescheij.COM>.

On 13-May-15 20:34, derekj535@sky.com wrote:
>   Hi, I have apache open office 4.1.1. on my laptop, is it possible to print labels from 1 to 250 without having to type the numbers one at a time?                                                                             Thanks..
Copied from an older answer by mt:
==========================
There are step-by-step instructions in Open Office online Help -copied 
and pasted below (AOO for Mac) for your convenience:

Designing Labels and Business Cards
You can design both labels and business cards through the Labels 
dialogue box.
1. Choose File - New - Labels to open the Labels dialogue box.
2. On the Labels tab, under Format, define the label format.
OpenOffice Writer contains many formats of commercially available sheets 
for labels, badges, and business cards. You can also add other, 
user-defined formats.
3. On the Labels tab, under Inscription, you can choose what you want 
written on the labels.
This often involves database fields, so that the labels can be printed 
with varying content, when sending "Form Letters" for example. It is 
also possible to have the same text printed on every label.
Use the Database and Table list boxes to select the database and table 
from which the data fields are obtained. Click on the arrow button to 
transfer the selected data field into the inscription area. Press Enter 
to insert a line break. You can also enter spaces and any other fixed text.
On the Format tab you can define your own label formats, not covered by 
the predefined formats. To do this, select "User" from the Type list 
box. On the Options tab, you can specify whether all labels or only 
certain ones are to be created.
4. On the Options tab page, ensure that the Synchronise contents box is 
selected. If this is selected, a label only has to be entered (on the 
top left label) and edited once.
5. As soon as you click on New Document, you will see a small window 
with the Synchronise Labels button. Enter the first label. When you 
click on the Synchronise Labels button, the current individual label is 
copied to all the other labels on the sheet.
6. Click on New Document to create a new document with the settings you 
have entered.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@openoffice.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@openoffice.apache.org


Re: label printing

Posted by Brian Barker <b....@btinternet.com>.
At 10:34 13/05/2015 +0000, Derek Jonly wrote:
>I have apache open office 4.1.1 on my laptop, is it possible to 
>print labels from 1 to 250 without having to type the numbers one at a time?

There are various ways to do this. Here are a couple.

o Go to File | New > | Labels.
o Select your label format and click New Document.
o Go to Insert | Fields > | Other... | Variables.
o Under Type, select "Set variable".
o Give your variable a name - say "Number".
o For value, enter "Number+1".
o Click Insert and Close.
o Click Synchronise Labels.
(I don't see how to create more than one page at a time this way.)

Alternatively,
o In a spreadsheet, enter numbers corresponding to the first two rows 
of your labels. So if, say, you have three labels across on your 
sheets, enter 1, 2, and 3 on one row and 4, 5, and 6 on the next.
o Select this range (of six cells).
o Drag the fill handle down to create the required array of numbers.
o With the entire array selected, go to Edit | Copy.
o Open a new text (Writer) document.
o Go to Edit | Paste Special... (or Ctrl+Shift+V) and select "HTML 
(HyperText Markup Language)". You now have a table containing the 
required numbers.
o Go to Table | Table Properties... | Text Flow.
o Ensure that "Allow table to split across pages and columns" is 
ticked but "Allow row to break across pages and columns" is *not* ticked.
o Select entire table.
o Go to right-click | Row > | Height..., remove the tick from "Fit to 
size" and set the row height suitably.
By adjusting the row height as well as the page margins, you will be 
able to match your label format. Make test prints on plain paper and 
hold up to the light with your label stock to check registration as 
you make adjustments.

I trust this helps.

Brian Barker


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@openoffice.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@openoffice.apache.org