You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to issues@ozone.apache.org by "Wei-Chiu Chuang (Jira)" <ji...@apache.org> on 2026/05/06 16:49:00 UTC

[jira] [Updated] (HDDS-15187) Enable ozone.snapshot.deep.cleaning.enabled by default

     [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDDS-15187?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:all-tabpanel ]

Wei-Chiu Chuang updated HDDS-15187:
-----------------------------------
    Description: 
h1. Symptoms
Files marked for deletion are never marked reclaimable because when a snapshot is deleted, its contents are appended to the next Active snapshot. Because there is always an Active snapshot remaining when a snapshot is deleted, the files marked for deletion will be kept with the current Active snapshots perpetually. We can see this mechanism at work in the Ozone Manager role logs (/var/log/hadoop-ozone/ozone-om.log by default) where log messages specify “entries will be moved to next active snapshot”:

2026-04-14 22:21:02,311 INFO [SnapshotDeletingService#0]-org.apache.hadoop.ozone.om.service.SnapshotDeletingService: Started Snapshot Deletion Processing for snapshot : /snaptest1/snapbucket1/s20260414-212019.561
2026-04-14 22:21:02,312 INFO [SnapshotDeletingService#0]-org.apache.hadoop.ozone.om.service.SnapshotDeletingService: Snapshot: /snaptest1/snapbucket1/s20260414-212019.561 entries will be moved to next active snapshot: /snaptest1/snapbucket1/s20260414-214018.921

h1. Proposed solution
The Ozone Snapshot GC project (HDDS-12558) refactored Ozone Snapshot implementation. HDDS-11411 added a configuration property ozone.snapshot.deep.cleaning.enabled which moves deleted keys from AOS or deleted snapshot to the next snapshot. But this flag is false by default.


We need to enable this flag by default to prevent orphaned files accumulating in the cluster.

h1. Workaround
Set ozone.snapshot.deep.cleaning.enabled=true in the Ozone Manager's ozone-site.xml.

  was:
The Ozone Snapshot GC project (HDDS-12558) refactored Ozone Snapshot implementation. HDDS-11411 added a configuration property ozone.snapshot.deep.cleaning.enabled which moves deleted keys from AOS or deleted snapshot to the next snapshot. But this flag is false by default.

We need to enable this flag by default to prevent orphaned files accumulating in the cluster.


> Enable ozone.snapshot.deep.cleaning.enabled by default
> ------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: HDDS-15187
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDDS-15187
>             Project: Apache Ozone
>          Issue Type: Task
>          Components: Snapshot
>    Affects Versions: 2.2.0
>            Reporter: Wei-Chiu Chuang
>            Priority: Blocker
>
> h1. Symptoms
> Files marked for deletion are never marked reclaimable because when a snapshot is deleted, its contents are appended to the next Active snapshot. Because there is always an Active snapshot remaining when a snapshot is deleted, the files marked for deletion will be kept with the current Active snapshots perpetually. We can see this mechanism at work in the Ozone Manager role logs (/var/log/hadoop-ozone/ozone-om.log by default) where log messages specify “entries will be moved to next active snapshot”:
> 2026-04-14 22:21:02,311 INFO [SnapshotDeletingService#0]-org.apache.hadoop.ozone.om.service.SnapshotDeletingService: Started Snapshot Deletion Processing for snapshot : /snaptest1/snapbucket1/s20260414-212019.561
> 2026-04-14 22:21:02,312 INFO [SnapshotDeletingService#0]-org.apache.hadoop.ozone.om.service.SnapshotDeletingService: Snapshot: /snaptest1/snapbucket1/s20260414-212019.561 entries will be moved to next active snapshot: /snaptest1/snapbucket1/s20260414-214018.921
> h1. Proposed solution
> The Ozone Snapshot GC project (HDDS-12558) refactored Ozone Snapshot implementation. HDDS-11411 added a configuration property ozone.snapshot.deep.cleaning.enabled which moves deleted keys from AOS or deleted snapshot to the next snapshot. But this flag is false by default.
> We need to enable this flag by default to prevent orphaned files accumulating in the cluster.
> h1. Workaround
> Set ozone.snapshot.deep.cleaning.enabled=true in the Ozone Manager's ozone-site.xml.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian Jira
(v8.20.10#820010)

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: issues-unsubscribe@ozone.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: issues-help@ozone.apache.org