You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by sv...@spamgourmet.com on 2006/07/28 13:57:40 UTC

Unset Windows archive attribute for backups after commit

Hi,

We have a Windows specific issue regarding the archive attribute and 
backup strategy of the working copy:

After changing files the Windows archive attribute is set. If the 
changes are committed the attribute remains set. Several backup tools 
check the attribute to decide if files need to be backed up. Because 
the changes are in the repository - which has its own backup strategy 
of course - a backup of the files in the working copy is not needed 
any longer.

So my questions is: 
Should it be a feature of Subversion to unset the Windows Archive 
attribute after committing?
May be via a property like svn:needs-lock which also changes a 
Windows attribute.
Any thoughts, comments?

Thanks in advance
George

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org