You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to common-dev@hadoop.apache.org by "Konstantin Shvachko (JIRA)" <ji...@apache.org> on 2008/12/24 01:06:44 UTC
[jira] Updated: (HADOOP-4935) Manual leaving of safe mode may lead
to data lost
[ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HADOOP-4935?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:all-tabpanel ]
Konstantin Shvachko updated HADOOP-4935:
----------------------------------------
Attachment: misReplBlocks.patch
This fixes the problem.
I tried to make a unit test, but it is really hard to make it deterministic.
> Manual leaving of safe mode may lead to data lost
> -------------------------------------------------
>
> Key: HADOOP-4935
> URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HADOOP-4935
> Project: Hadoop Core
> Issue Type: Bug
> Components: dfs
> Affects Versions: 0.18.3
> Reporter: Hairong Kuang
> Assignee: Konstantin Shvachko
> Fix For: 0.18.3
>
> Attachments: misReplBlocks.patch
>
>
> Due to HADOOP-4610, NameNode calculates mis-replicated blocks when leaving safe mode manually, where it clears the pending deletion queue before it does the calculation. This works fine when NameNode just starts but introduced a bug when NameNode is running for a while. Clearing the pending deletion queue makes NameNode not able to distinguish valid replicas from invalid ones, ie, the ones that have scheduled or dispatched for deletion. Therefore, NameNode may mistakenly decide the block is over-replicated and choose all valid ones to delete.
--
This message is automatically generated by JIRA.
-
You can reply to this email to add a comment to the issue online.