You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by David Budworth <db...@eloan.com> on 2004/04/07 18:20:43 UTC
Merge showing more changes than actually made.
Hello all,
First, a little setup of how we work, in case there's something
inherently wrong with the procedure.
The server is webdav/apache on linux, client is linux. Both running
1.0.1
My group has implemented the excellent idea posted a few weeks ago (I
forget who posted it, sorry) branching/merging technique of creating a
merge point section in our repository.
ie:
project/trunk - no one works here (URL defined as $TRUNK in environment)
project/branches/davidb - my branch (defined as $BR)
project/merge-points/davidb - the point in the trunk that my branch was
created (defined as $MP)
This allows us to simply do:
mybranch_wc$ svn merge $MP $TRUNK # merge other peoples changes to my
branch
trunk_wc$ svn merge $MP $BR # merge by branch back to trunk (assumes I
resolved changes in my branch)
$ svn del $MP # kill old merge point
$ svn cp $TRUNK $MP # create it again
I'm not sure if there's a way to kill the old merge point and
re-create. If I just to cp $TRUNK $MP it ends up going in as
/merge-points/davidb/trunk/<FILES> since $MP already existed. for now,
i just delete and re-create.
Saves us the headache of keeping track of branch versions the error
prone engineer requirement of labeling branch points in a sane way.
Now, on to my problem.
After I commit a single file change to my branch, then do:
trunk_wc$ svn merge $MP $BR
merge shows several files (U)pdated... Including the one I changed.
then, doing:
trunk_wc$ svn diff
shows that only the one file changed.
Seems that this may be the issue with $Id: $ tags I mentioned before
(in that the server and client strip the contents of a keyword
differently. (or maybe it's the client on upload and client on diff,
not sure)
or, it's maybe something to do with timestamps. Not really sure.
I am indeed resetting my merge point after each merge to trunk. So the
merge should only show what I committed since last trunk merge.
None of the files that show as 'updated' diff at all if I explicitly
diff the $MP and $BR versions.
So i guess I'm wondering, how do I resolve this issue as it's highly
confusing for the person doing the merge?
Or maybe someone has a suggestion on how to trouble shoot this issue.
Upgrading to subversion HEAD isn't really an option for me to test as
the server is being used in production.
Thank you,
-David
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Re: Merge showing more changes than actually made.
Posted by Ben Collins-Sussman <su...@collab.net>.
On Wed, 2004-04-07 at 13:20, David Budworth wrote:
> After I commit a single file change to my branch, then do:
> trunk_wc$ svn merge $MP $BR
> merge shows several files (U)pdated... Including the one I changed.
>
> then, doing:
> trunk_wc$ svn diff
> shows that only the one file changed.
Once again, anecdotal descriptions aren't useful to us; they're too
easily subject to faulty memory and misanalysis. We need to see an
actual transcript of interaction with the commandline client. (Even
better would be a small self-contained shell script that demonstrates
the behavior.)
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org