You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Ilan Yaniv <Il...@timetoknow.org> on 2008/12/01 10:17:24 UTC

SVN deleting files

Hi,

I have here an ambiguity.
I want to clean my disk. I chose, with the tortoise the delete option. I
see that my folders are now with red X.
If I will commit this change, will my files be deleted from the server
too.

If they will...?  What is the way I remove the files from the disk only
(command line and Tortoise command plz)

Thanks

Ilan Yaniv
Configuration Management
Phone: 03-7534333 ext. 5873
Ilan.Yaniv@timetoknow.org


RE: SVN deleting files

Posted by Bert Huijben <b....@competence.biz>.
                Hi,

 

TortoiseSVN has its own mailinglist for TortoiseSVN specific questions.
(Subversion has no standard GUI, so the only thing you would see is the 'D'
status).

 

If you svn delete files they are scheduled for deletion on the server. If
you would commit your changes the files would be removed from the server.

 

To keep them on the server but remove them locally you can just use the OS
commands. (A normal delete). But this would bring your workingcopy in the
missing state and keep a copy in the working copy data.

 

To really have a workingcopy without some specific large files you should
look into using sparse workingcopies. (I think the subversion book has some
topics on this subject). This marks the files or subdirectories as 'should
be absent', and you won't get them back by just calling svn update without
specific arguments.

 

Subversion 1.5 doesn't have an api to shrink existing working copies, so to
create one you should start by checking out the root and then including
everything you need. (The feature is available in trunk, so it should be in
1.6 when it gets out)

 

                Bert

 

 

From: Ilan Yaniv [mailto:Ilan.Yaniv@timetoknow.org] 
Sent: maandag 1 december 2008 11:17
To: Subversion Users
Subject: SVN deleting files

 

Hi,

I have here an ambiguity.

I want to clean my disk. I chose, with the tortoise the delete option. I see
that my folders are now with red X.

If I will commit this change, will my files be deleted from the server too.

If they will.?  What is the way I remove the files from the disk only
(command line and Tortoise command plz)

Thanks

Ilan Yaniv

Configuration Management

Phone: 03-7534333 ext. 5873

 <ma...@timetoknow.org> Ilan.Yaniv@timetoknow.org


Re: SVN deleting files

Posted by Ulrich Eckhardt <ec...@satorlaser.com>.
On Monday 01 December 2008, Ilan Yaniv wrote:
> I want to clean my disk. I chose, with the tortoise the delete option. I
> see that my folders are now with red X.
> If I will commit this change, will my files be deleted from the server
> too.

No, there is actually no way to delete any information from the server. What 
happens when you commit is that a new revision will be created on the server 
and that revision will not include the files you scheduled for deletion. 
Someone checking out the latest version will not receive those files then, 
though someone checking out an earlier version can still retrieve them.

> If they will...?  What is the way I remove the files from the disk only
> (command line and Tortoise command plz)

You can just delete your working copy. Actually, you should reread the 
Subversion book; It would then be clear to you that the WC is just scrap 
space which you use to temporarily store modifications before committing them 
but which can otherwise be deleted/copied/renamed at will.

Uli

-- 
ML: http://subversion.tigris.org/mailing-list-guidelines.html
FAQ: http://subversion.tigris.org/faq.html
Docs: http://svnbook.red-bean.com/

Sator Laser GmbH
Geschäftsführer: Thorsten Föcking, Amtsgericht Hamburg HR B62 932

**************************************************************************************
           Visit our website at <http://www.satorlaser.de/>
**************************************************************************************
Diese E-Mail einschließlich sämtlicher Anhänge ist nur für den Adressaten bestimmt und kann vertrauliche Informationen enthalten. Bitte benachrichtigen Sie den Absender umgehend, falls Sie nicht der beabsichtigte Empfänger sein sollten. Die E-Mail ist in diesem Fall zu löschen und darf weder gelesen, weitergeleitet, veröffentlicht oder anderweitig benutzt werden.
E-Mails können durch Dritte gelesen werden und Viren sowie nichtautorisierte Änderungen enthalten. Sator Laser GmbH ist für diese Folgen nicht verantwortlich.

**************************************************************************************


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org