You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by Sidney Cadot <ca...@science-and-technology.nl> on 2004/08/20 10:09:47 UTC

Moving working copies after repository move

Hi all,

Is there a convenient way to move working copies that users have 
checked out, in case of a repository location move?

Case in point: I have a 1.7 GB repository with a considerable number of 
working copies checked out. I would love to be able to take the old 
repository location to a new place without having to specify a "sync 
date" where all users are expected to have checked in all their 
modifications, and to have each of them check out a fresh copy from the 
new location.

Preferably, users would notice that svn access to the old repository 
stops working, curse a bit, read their e-mail, find my sysop message, 
type a command, and be able to continue their work.

I did a test-drive where I used a script to change the "url" spec in 
all the ".svn/entries" files to a new location but then I got the 
rather unhelpful message:

"svn: Can't recode string" (using subversion 1.0.6 on Debian/unstable)

Best regards,

   Sidney Cadot


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org

Re: Moving working copies after repository move

Posted by kf...@collab.net.
Sidney Cadot <ca...@science-and-technology.nl> writes:
> Is there a convenient way to move working copies that users have
> checked out, in case of a repository location move?

'svn switch --relocate' is your friend :-).

-Karl

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org