You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to hdfs-issues@hadoop.apache.org by "Wei-Chiu Chuang (JIRA)" <ji...@apache.org> on 2019/07/31 21:31:00 UTC
[jira] [Assigned] (HDFS-11111) Delete something in .Trash using
"rm" should be forbidden without safety option
[ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-11111?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:all-tabpanel ]
Wei-Chiu Chuang reassigned HDFS-11111:
--------------------------------------
Assignee: Lantao Jin
> Delete something in .Trash using "rm" should be forbidden without safety option
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Key: HDFS-11111
> URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-11111
> Project: Hadoop HDFS
> Issue Type: Improvement
> Components: hdfs
> Affects Versions: 2.7.2
> Reporter: Lantao Jin
> Assignee: Lantao Jin
> Priority: Major
> Labels: Incompatible
> Attachments: HDFS-11111.1.patch
>
>
> As we discussed in HDFS-11102, double confirmation does not seem to be a graceful solution for users. Deleting files in .Trash accidentally is still an issue though. The behaviour of users I'm worried about is {{rm}} ing something in .Trash (without explicitly understanding that those files will not be recoverable). This is in contrast to {{rm}} ing something with "-skipTrash" option (That's a very purposeful action).
> So it is not the same case as HADOOP-12358. The solution is throwing an exception and remind user to add "-trash" option to delete dirs in trash for safely:
> {code}
> Can not delete somehing trash directly! Please add "-trash" or "-T" in "rm" command to do that.
> {code}
--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v7.6.14#76016)
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: hdfs-issues-unsubscribe@hadoop.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: hdfs-issues-help@hadoop.apache.org