You are viewing a plain text version of this content. The canonical link for it is here.
Posted to users@subversion.apache.org by David Arnold <dw...@cox.net> on 2006/01/12 07:59:58 UTC
Delete
All,
I have a group of teachers who will be working together on a textbook
project. Some are very novice users and none have used Subversion or
any version software before (me included).
I am concerned that someone might use svn delete to remove something
from the repository that might irrevocably be lost. That's possible?
If so, how do we prevent such a thing? Are there permissions, such as
in mysql, that give users only certain rights and take away others?
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Re: Delete
Posted by Duncan Booth <du...@suttoncourtenay.org.uk>.
David Arnold wrote:
> I am concerned that someone might use svn delete to remove something
> from the repository that might irrevocably be lost. That's possible?
>
No, svn delete just deletes a file from this point on. You can always
retrieve it from an earlier revision if you want to restore it.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Re: Delete
Posted by Paul Koning <pk...@equallogic.com>.
>>>>> "David" == David Arnold <dw...@cox.net> writes:
David> All, I have a group of teachers who will be working together
David> on a textbook project. Some are very novice users and none
David> have used Subversion or any version software before (me
David> included).
David> I am concerned that someone might use svn delete to remove
David> something from the repository that might irrevocably be
David> lost. That's possible?
No. You can undo the effect of any commit, including those that do
deletes.
David> If so, how do we prevent such a thing? Are there permissions,
David> such as in mysql, that give users only certain rights and take
David> away others?
If you want to disallow deletion, you can use the pre-commit hook for
that. But given that all actions can be undone, I don't see a good
reason for that.
paul
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org